A Poem and a Prayer for Pentecost Sunday

Holy Spirit of Fire:
Light
Energy
All consuming Love
Empowering
Breath of Life
Transforming Presence
Purity of heart
Fire that warms
Fire that thaws cold hearts
Fire that limbers cold hands
Fire that illumines our path
Fire that burns within us
Faith is a walk with God.
Living by faith in God is a journey, not a destination.
Living by faith is movement, not sitting still or
planting ourselves and waiting for something to happen.
Faith happens when we are alive.
People see that we have faith by how we live our everyday lives,
not because we declare that we have faith.
Where would I be today without God’s presence in
the events of my life?
On this journey of faith let us open our hearts, our beings,
to the Spirit of Life,
the Breath that sustains us and gives us life,
the Fire that lights our way as we walk with God.
— Cindy Nedved

In Every Need
Holy Spirit,
my light, my life, my love, my strength,
be with me now, and always:
in all my doubts, perplexities and trials,
come, Holy Spirit;
in hours of loneliness, weariness and grief,
come, Holy Spirit;
in failure and in loss, in disappointment,
come, Holy Spirit;
when others fail me, when I fail myself,
come, Holy Spirit;
when I am ill, unable to work, depressed,
come, Holy Spirit;
now, and forever, and in all things,
come, Holy Spirit.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Feasts & Seasons, Prayer, Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Poem and a Prayer for Pentecost Sunday

  1. Denise says:

    I find it uncanny that the seasons of the Church ebb and flow with the season in my life. I just know that God planned it this way, and that I am not alone in that understanding. My heart is overflowing with the love of God, and the indwelling of the Holy Spirit. How I long for the Holy Spirit to be with me now, and always, in all my doubts, perplexities and trials, in hours of loneliness, weariness and grief, in failure and in loss, in disappointment, when others fail me, when I fail myself, when I am ill, unable to work, and depressed. I have felt all of these things in the past week, and find such comfort in knowing that relief is just a whisper away. Thank you for the frequent reminders of our providential love.

  2. Rose says:

    Amen Denise. I missed Saturday mass, but now know what Pentecost Sunday, “Whitsun” means! So I continue to learn about Christianity and Jesus through this amazing blog and community that is Bluefield’s Sacred Heart Catholic Church. And it is thrilling. The “Holy Spirit” for me is the most transcendental and exciting aspect of the holy trinity, because it can be felt and it is an energy that propels and awakens and beckons, as it were, because it is not verbal, but intuitive, which is said to be, in popular folklore, a particular feminine disposition: ) I love that Mary and other women were present and felt this godly visitation, as it were. I think of it as a spiritual rapture, such a visitation of the holy spirit.

    Last week, I was thrilled to learn about Ascension Day. And I think I am becoming boorish already on my knowledge of Christian theology: ) God help everyone around me! God allow me grace and humor: ) But I “get” what you describe as Seasons of the Church.

    Anyway, love the picture! Love “In Every Need.” Wonder if I could set myself to memorizing it tonight? It is beautiful and succint and sweet and true and soul satisfying.

    Just for fun, here’s Elvis Costello and Allen Toussaint singing/playing their song “Ascencion Day.” A great song, and Christian religious allusion in the “popular song!” A heartening thing in a secular world! : )

    And the lyrics:
    “Not a soul was stirring. Not a bird was singing, at least not within my hearing.
    I was five minutes past caring, standing in the road just staring.

    Thought I heard somebody pleading, I thought I heard someone apologise.
    Some fell down weeping, others shook their fists up at the skies.
    And those who were left, seemed to be wearing disguises

    Now there’s a queen in waiting. Not enough loving and too much hating.
    For the prince hidden within her man, always seems to be hesitating.

    He said, “Let her go, let her go, God bless her.”
    “She hasn’t been gone long enough for me to miss her,”
    “Except every minute of every hour of every day when I wish I could possess her.”

    40 days passed by, 40 alibis.
    So carry on… that way, and in time… you’ll pay.
    But we’ll all be together come Ascension Day.

    Not a hound was howling, or whimpering or prowling.
    Now the wind had departed.
    Not a leaf was hanging on the tree like when it started.

    But I know they will return, like they’ve never gone away, come Ascension Day.”

  3. Denise says:

    Whether or not, I am conscious of it, life mirrors the cycle of the church year. I can recall how my mother incorporated the church seasons in our daily life. I found an article that explains it well: “Many churches in the Protestant tradition do not celebrate in any deliberate or sustained way the various seasons of the church year beyond Christmas and Easter. However, the observance of the seasons of the church year has a long history in the life of the Christian Faith. When most of the people in the church were poor and had no access to education, the church festivals and the cycle of the church year provided a vehicle for teaching the story of God and his actions in human history. Even in the Old Testament, the concept of sacred time became a vehicle for teaching the faith (for example, Exodus 12-13). Planned and purposeful observance of the Christian seasons and festivals can become an important tool for education and discipleship in the Faith, as well as a vehicle for spiritual growth and vitality.” (from http://www.crivoice.org/chyear.html)

Leave a Reply

