All This Time and I Did Not Hear – Mystic Monday Poetry

All This Time and I Did Not Hear.

As I look now
at this beautiful gift
of Creation,
I get a message.
It has been screaming at me
all of my very existence,
a message I knew
but did not know I knew.

There is not a single thing out there,
no tree, plant, bird, critter, rock,
that rues what happened in the past–
not last year, not last month, not yesterday,
not a minute or even a second ago.

There is not a single thing out there,
no bush, no flower, no rabbit, no spider, no drop of water,
that worries about the future
or lives in angst
that some day it will cease to be.

All of Creation,
plants, animals, wind, clouds, rain, cacti, sun, waves,
all of Mother Nature’s (Mother God’s)
Goodness
shouts out in Uproarious Simplicity
Just
Be!

Enough, mind of mine!
You have refused to let me just Be.
You constantly drag me back into the past
or pull me into the future,
neither of which exists.
Creation is in neither of those places,
only in the Now.
I’m taking Control
and am going to spend a great deal more of my time
with the Original Blessing, The Gift of Creation,
in the Precious Present Moment.

[Written by John Churchman]

[PHOTO SOURCE: This file is in the public domain because it was created by NASA.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All This Time and I Did Not Hear – Mystic Monday Poetry

  1. annette says:

    IN THE WORDS OF A WISE YOUNG MAN…..ENJOY BEING!

  2. CAROLYN GIPSON says:

    I love the idea that there is no past or future and to live in the present. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

