God Will Write Upon Our Hearts

[There are many different ways to respond to God’s Word. Acting upon it is the best response. Preachers and poets sometimes respond with verse of their own. This poem  by John van de Laar is one of many available on his Sacerdise website.  It seems to go rather well with a Word God spoke through the prophet Jeremiah.]

But this is the covenant that I will make
with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD:
I will put My law in their minds, and
write it on their hearts; and
I will be their God, and they shall be My people.    (Jer. 31:33)

On Our Hearts
Inscribe on our hearts, God,
the love you have for us,
the life you give us,
the constancy of your presence with us;
Inscribe on our hearts, God,
the call to follow you,
the longing to know you,
the compassion to love as you do;
Inscribe on our hearts, God,
the story of salvation,
the part we play in your purposes,
the vision of your dream for creation;
Inscribe on our hearts, God,
all that you hold in yours,
or at least, as much of it as we can carry.  Amen.

by John van de Laar © 2009 Sacredise

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God Will Write Upon Our Hearts

  1. sharonandsal says:

    Good! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

