One Good Slap Answers Three Difficult Questions

Questions, questions

There was once a lad who had been scholastic study abroad for a very long time before returning to his hometown. Upon his return, he asked his parents to find any teacher, or priest or anybody that would be capable of answering 3 of his questions. At last, his parents found the man the local priest.   The young man asked the older priest.

“Who are you? And would you be able to answer my questions?”

The priest answered: “I am a servant of God and through His Will,I shall answer your questions.”

“Are you sure? Even professors can’t answer my questions.”

I shall do my best on answering them.”

” I have 3 questions:
1. If God exists, can show God to me?
2. What is it that which people call “Fate”?
3. If Devil is created out of fire, then why is it that devils are banished in hellish fire? It would not hurt them i suppose, since they are of the same element.

All of a sudden, the priest slapped the young man very hard.

“Why are you angry at me?”

I am not angry at all…that is my answer to three of your questions.”

” I don’t get it.”

How does the slap feel?”

“Of course it is painful.”

So you do believe that pain exists?”

“Yes.”

Show the pain to me.”

“I can’t.”

That is my answer to your first question. All of us can feel God’s presence without seeing him.”

The priest continued,
Did you dream of being slapped by me last night? Have you ever thought that you would get a slap from me today? That’s what I call fate.”

What is the hand that i used to slap you made of?”

“Skin.”

What is your cheek made of?”

“Skin.”

But you feel pain don’t you? Even if devils are made of fire and hell is of fire, if it is of God’s desire, then Hell would be hell for devils.”

[SOURCE: http://www.storiesofwisdom.com/a-priest-and-a-lad/]

[PHOTO by akmalhusin74 on photobucket.com]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

