Glory to God for All Things: An Akathist – Part 1 

[“This Akathist, also called the “Akathist of Thanksgiving,” was composed by Metropolitan Tryphon (Prince Boris Petrovich Turkestanov) in 1934.  A copy was in possession of Protopresbyter Gregory Petrov shortly before his death in a prison camp in 1940. Suggestion: Light a candle in a silent room.  Make the Sign of the Cross, and slowly pray the words aloud, take time to reflect on them, and make them your own.  Revisit these words this Wednesday as well as next Sunday and Wednesday.   Part 2 will be on Sunday July, 8.]

ODE 1

Everlasting King, Your will for our salvation is full of power.
Your right arm controls the whole course of human life.
We give You thanks for all Your mercies, seen and unseen:
For eternal life, for the heavenly joys of the Kingdom which is to be.
Grant mercy to us who sing Your praises, both now and in the time to come.
Glory to You, O God, from age to age.

IKOS 1

I was born a weak, defenseless child,
but Your angel spread his wings over my cradle to defend me.
From birth until now, Your love has illumined my path,
and has wondrously guided me towards the light of eternity.
From birth until now the generous gifts of Your Providence
have been marvelously showered upon me. I give You thanks,
with all who have come to know You, who call upon Your Name:

Glory to You for calling me into being.
Glory to You, showing me the beauty of the universe.
Glory to You, spreading out before me heaven and earth,
like the pages in a book of eternal wisdom.
Glory to You for Your eternity in this fleeting world.
Glory to You for Your mercies, seen and unseen.
Glory to You, through every sigh of my sorrow.
Glory to You for every step of my life’s journey, for every moment of glory.
Glory to You, O God, from age to age.

[One of the many gifts of the Orthodox as well as Eastern Catholic Churches to the rest of Christianity is their great tradition and collection of akathists.    “An akathist (Greek, akathistos) is a hymn dedicated to a saint, holy event, or one of the persons of the Holy Trinity. The word akathist itself means ‘not sitting.'” These hymns are so long they are rarely sung in their entirety any more except in monasteries.  For more information and the source of quotations, please visit http://orthodoxwiki.org/Akathist#Other_languages]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

