Grace and Life Stream from God: Ezekiel 47:1-12

Then he brought me back to the entrance of the temple, and there! I saw water flowing out from under the threshold of the temple toward the east, for the front of the temple faced east. The water flowed out toward the right side of the temple
to the south of the altar.

He brought me by way of the north gate and around the outside to the outer gate facing east; there I saw water trickling from the southern side.

When he continued eastward with a measuring cord in his hand, he measured off a thousand cubits and had me wade through the water; it was ankle-deep.

He measured off another thousand cubits and once more had me wade through the water; it was up to the knees. He measured another thousand cubits and had me wade through the water; it was up to my waist.

Once more he measured off a thousand cubits. Now it was a river I could not wade across. The water had risen so high, I would have to swim—a river that was impassable.

Then he asked me, “Do you see this, son of man?” He brought me to the bank of the river and had me sit down.

As I was returning, I saw along the bank of the river a great many trees on each side.

He said to me, “This water flows out into the eastern district, runs down into the Arabah and empties into the polluted waters of the sea* to freshen them.

Wherever it flows, the river teems with every kind of living creature; fish will abound. Where these waters flow they refresh; everything lives where the river goes.

Fishermen will stand along its shore from En-gedi to En-eglaim;* it will become a place for drying nets, and it will abound with as many kinds of fish as the Great Sea.

Its marshes and swamps shall not be made fresh, but will be left for salt.

Along each bank of the river every kind of fruit tree will grow; their leaves will not wither, nor will their fruit fail. Every month they will bear fresh fruit because the waters of the river flow out from the sanctuary. Their fruit is used for food, and their leaves for healing.”

[Scripture texts in this work are taken from the New American Bible, revised edition © 2010, 1991, 1986, 1970 Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, Washington, D.C. and are used by permission of the copyright owner. All Rights Reserved. No part of the New American Bible may be reproduced in any form without permission in writing from the copyright owner.]

[Heartlight provides positive resources for daily Christian Living including the artwork.   LINK TO HEARTLIGHT: http://www.heartlight.org]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grace and Life Stream from God: Ezekiel 47:1-12

  1. Denise says:

    This is a beautiful expression of the immeasurable love of God. I am so thankful that the blessing is no longer restricted to the one people and locality, but is to be wide-spread through the whole world, so that we are all encouraged to seek forgiveness and conversion; compared to water, for its cleansing, and refreshing nature.

Leave a Reply

