A Cautionary Tale On Prayer

A Master and his disciple were walking through the deserts of Arabia.
The Master used each moment of the journey to teach his disciple about faith.
“Entrust your things to God,” he said. “Because God never abandons His children.”

When they camped down at night,
the Master asked the disciple to tie the horses to a nearby rock.

The disciple went over to the rock,
but then remembered what he had learnt that afternoon.
“The Master must be testing me.
The truth is that I should entrust the horses to God.”
And he left the horses loose.

In the morning he discovered that the animals had run off.
Indignant, he sought out the Master.
“You know nothing about God!
Yesterday I learnt that I should trust blindly in Providence,
so I gave the horses to Him to guard, and the animals have disappeared!”

“God wanted to look after the horses,” answered the Master.
“But at that moment he needed your hands to tie them up
and you did not lend them to Him.”

Pray as though everything depended on God.
Work as though everything depended on you.   — St. Augustine

[Link to story: http://paulocoelhoblog.com/2010/11/21/tus-%5D

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Cautionary Tale On Prayer

  1. 1922blue says:

    Faith without works are dead.

  2. Denise says:

    Thankfully, God understands how foolish we can be.

Leave a Reply

