Mystic Monday Words of Advice 

Here’s what you need to do in fourteen unique situations:

01)  When you pray, be humble.
02)  When you confess, be honest.
03)  When you do penance, do it indefatigably.
04)  When you eat, be sensible.
05)  When you sleep, be disciplined.
06)  When you are alone, be faithful.
07)  When you are with others, be discreet.
08)  When someone teaches you good manners, be receptive.
09)  When someone reprimands you for your mistakes, be patient.
10)  When you do something bad, ask forgiveness immediately
11)  When you are full of self-absorbed pride, fear for the health of your soul.
12)  When you are sad, trust in God completely.
13)  When you are doing manual work, work hard.
14)  because hard work drives off every evil thought.

— Mechthild of Magdeburg   (1208-1282)

[SOURCE]

[IMAGE:    Mechthild von Magdeburg by Peter Paul Metz  and photographed by Andreas Praefcke who placed it in the Public Domain.  Wikimedia Commons.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mystic Monday Words of Advice 

  1. Kelly Rose says:

    I like 13 and 14, and I would add that it drives off all negativity. Whether it’s manual labor or excercise, physical exertion helps lighten and clear the mind. I’ve been riding my bike for two months now at the park in Bluefield, not only is my body shaping up, but my mind is grateful for the sweat too. I ride at least eight miles a day. Excercise is essential for both physical and mental health. It cannot be denied. No excuses.

Leave a Reply

