A Prayer of Thanksgiving to Jesus

StJohnsAshfield StainedGlass GoodShepherd Portrait

Lord Jesus, I give you thanks,
not only with my lips and heart,
which often comes to little,
but with your spirit, with which I
speak to you,
question you,
love you and
recognize you.
You are all, and everything is in you.
In you we live, move, and have our being.

You are our father, our brother, our all;
and to those who love you,
you have promised such things
as no one has ever
seen or thought of, or enjoyed.

Make the gift of these things to your humble faithful;
you who are God, true and good, and there is no other besides you.

You are the true God, the true Son of God,
to whom be honour and glory and majesty
in eternity and for all ages to come.  Amen.

From an old French Liturgy.

[PHOTO: Stained glass at St John the Baptist’s Anglican Church [1], Ashfield, New South Wales. Author Stained glass: Alfred Handel, d. 1946[2], photo:Toby Hudson. This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license. Courtesy of Wikkimedia Commons]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Liturgy, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Prayer of Thanksgiving to Jesus

  1. Gail Bays says:

    Really really nice!

Leave a Reply

