A Christian Version of the Intentions

[From its beginning the Church has always felt free to adapt and adopt something suitable to her needs or simply beauti-ful. For example, the Liturgy of the Word that is all or part of Christian Sunday worship was taken from the Jewish synagogal service during the first century. This is a sample of how I am adapting the above post for my own prayer.]

A Month Long List of Prayer Intentions

DAY 1

Holy God, on this day make my spiritual exercises ones of those who turn to you (sincerely) and (obediently), awaken me from the sleep of the heedless, and forgive me my sins, O God of the worlds, and forgive me, O one who forgives the sinners.

DAY 2

Mighty God, on this day, take me closer towards Your pleasure, keep me away from Your anger and punishment, grant me the opportunity to read and reflect upon Your holy Word, by Your mercy, O the most Merciful.

DAY 3

Immortal God, on this day, grant me wisdom and awareness, keep me away from foolishness and pretension, grant me a share in every blessing You send down, by Your generosity, O the most Generous.

DAY 4

Loving God, on this day, strengthen me in carrying out Your commands, let me taste the sweetness of Your remembrance, grant me, through Your graciousness, that I give thanks to You. Protect me, with Your protection and cover, O the most discerning of those who see.

DAY 5

Merciful God, on this day, place me among those who seek forgiveness. Place me among Your righteous and obedient servants, and place me among Your close friends, by Your kindness, O the most Merciful.

DAY 6

Just God, on this day help me to overcome temptation and sin. May my words and deeds be pleasing to You, O the ultimate wish of those who desire.

I think you get the point and can take it from here.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Christian Version of the Intentions

  1. Father Paul, I love your daily prayers!

  2. Gail Bays says:

    I really like reading your daily blogs. This one is very good!

Leave a Reply

