Jesus Promised to Judge Us as We Judge Others

[It is my hope that what follows will be understood as reasonable and calm discourse. However, I passionately believe every word.]

It would be wrong for those of the Islamic faith
to judge all Christians by the hateful
words and deeds of the Westboro Baptist Church
members who protest at funerals of soldiers,
West Virginia coalminers, and even first ladies
like Betty Ford to provoke a reaction and lawsuit.

It is just as wrong for us to paint
all the people of Islam with the same brush
because of power-hungry terrorists,
some religious leaders who seem to excel in hatred,
and manipulated and brainwashed suicide bombers.

It is equally unchristian to blame Jewish people
for the death of Jesus, the financial crisis,
and all the other problems of the world.

We are all God’s children,
created in God’s image and likeness.
Isn’t it about time all of us
who claim to follow the one, true God
and name ourselves children of Abraham
stop the hatred and the violence that exists still?

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

