Saint Ignatius of Loyola (1491-1556) ON PRAYER

[This is the fifteenth of a series of posts featuring a saint, mystic, or writer to include some of their thoughts on prayer as well as a prayer written by or ascribed to him or her.  Today is this saint’s Feast. For more about him, visit the Saint of the Day blog on the right column of this blog.]

In dealing with the neighbor pray every day especially with the intention that God give you the grace of discretion, so that you will build up and not tear down.

Few souls understand what God would accomplish in them if they were to abandon themselves unreservedly to Him and if they were to allow His grace to mold them accordingly.

I ask the Father to give me an intimate knowledge of the many gifts I have received, that filled with gratitude for all, I may in all things love and serve the Divine Majesty.

A Prayer by St. Ignatius
Take, Lord, and receive
all my liberty, my memory,
my understanding and my entire will,
All I have and call my own.
You have given all to me.
To you, Lord, I return it.
Everything is yours;
do with it what you will.
Give me only your love and your grace.
That is enough for me. Amen

The picture is of a stained glass window in St. Robert Bellarmine Church in Burbank

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saint Ignatius of Loyola (1491-1556) ON PRAYER

  1. Eric Korn says:

    Dear Father Wharton, I have a question. I am a convert from the Episcopal Church to the Roman Catholic church. This conversion happened 20 years ago. From the beginning, I noticed that many fellow parishioners distinguish themselves as a “cradle Catholic.” This type of description is, as far as I know, not used in any other Christian denomination. I always assumed this term was used to distinguish oneself as a life-long Catholic as opposed to the convert. I originally interpreted the usage of “cradle Catholic” as a way of boasting that the user was superior to the convert. I do not presume to judge, but I would suppose that I am not alone in this interpretation. I wish the term would be discontinued. Please share the intent of the usage and how I can feel better about it. Thank you for your thoughts.

    • Paul Wharton says:

      Dear Eric,

      Actually, the term “cradle Catholic” simply means that one has been a member of the Roman Catholic Church since one was baptized in infancy. To my knowledge when it is used derisively it points to the fact that “cradle” Catholics are in large part ignorant of their faith and are unable to answer questions that people who become Catholic as adults know well. In other words, if you went through the Rite of Christian Initiation, you probably know more about the what’s and the why’s of the faith than most Catholics do. It’s one thing to be Catholic by birth. How more wonderful it is to be Catholic by choice. Only a really ignorant “cradle Catholic” would think it makes them somehow superior to Catholics like yourself, thus proving their stupidity. My Dad was proud to be a “convert” from the Methodist Church and considered it to be a badge of honor. I hope this brings some clarity to you. Please keep on coming back. If you like the blog, tell your friends. If you hate it, tell your enemies.”

      • Eric Korn says:

        Dear Father Wharton:

        Thank you for your insightful response. I enjoy your blog and others that I try to read every day or so – keeps me engaged and focused. Fortunately, I have no enemies, but will be sure to recommend your blog to others. God Bless

Leave a Reply

