Jesus on Judging Others; A Prayer by One Who Judges 

“Stop judging, that you may not be judged.
For as you judge, so will you be judged, and
the measure with which you measure will be measured out to you.

Why do you notice the splinter in your another’s eye,
but do not perceive the wooden beam in your own eye?

How can you say, ‘Let me remove that splinter from your eye,’
while the wooden beam is in your eye?

You hypocrite, remove the wooden beam from your eye first;
then you will see clearly to remove the splinter from another’s eye.

— Matthew 7:1-5

A Prayer for a Chronic Judger

Lord,
why is it that we humans
like to judge each other?

You know,
I make comments
on almost every aspect of life.
I comment

on the weather
on my neighbours
on my work colleagues
on my bosses
on our politicians.

And I listen
to the comments
of others
and often judge them
sometimes too harshly.

Lord,
I may not pull out
a base ball bat
but I know how to use words
that will bruise.
I am an expert in helping
other join in the abuse.

Forgive me, Lord,
When I don’t listen
When I think
I know more than I do
and I do more harm than I’ll ever know.

Help me to be patient
to consider my attitudes
my thoughts
my actions.

Help me to understand
your call to serve
without judging
those i am serving.

— italker [http://www.italker.org.uk/2008/11/a-prayer-about-judging-others/]

[Scripture texts in this work are taken from the New American Bible, revised edition © 2010, 1991, 1986, 1970 Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, Washington, D.C. and are used by permission of the copyright owner. All Rights Reserved. No part of the New American Bible may be reproduced in any form without permission in writing from the copyright owner.]

[PHOTO by blue_loki on phtobucket.com]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jesus on Judging Others; A Prayer by One Who Judges 

  1. Mike says:

    A great prayer Fr. Paul, hope all is well with you. Regards. Mike

  2. Dorotht says:

    Do you have a prayer for those of us who have been judged and one for us to say for those who have judged us?

Leave a Reply

