Saintly Blessings

Now, wherever we are,
and in every place,
and at every hour,
throughout each time of each day,
may all of us honestly and humbly believe,
holding in our hearts
to love, honor,
adore, serve,
praise, bless,
glorify, exalt,
magnify, and give thanks
to the Most High and Eternal God,
Trinity and Unity. Amen.
— St. Francis of Assisi
The Rule of Saint Francis

May today there be peace within.
May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be.
May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith.
May you use those gifts that you have received,
and pass on the love that has been given to you.
May you be content knowing you are a child of God.
Let this presence settle into your bones, and
allow your soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise and love.
It is there for each and every one of us.
–St. Thérèse de Lisieux

What you hold, may you always always hold.
What do you do, may you always do.
Never abandon it.
With the swiftest, lightest steps
that stir no dust,
and on feet that don’t stumble,
may you walk securely into the future
with joy and speed
along the path of wisdom, happy.
May your steps be practical and sure,
as the Spirit of the Lord calls you.
— Saint Claire of Assisi, Letters
Carmen Acevedo Butcher Little Daily Wisdom

[PHOTO: Northern Lights from Wikkimedia Commons.   This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saintly Blessings

  1. Catherine says:

    What a beautiful image. Thank you for the reminder that everything I need is in this moment. The image prompted me to google the aurora borealis images and give myself a visual treat. Thank you. One image said that Finland was the best place to see the northern lights. Hmmmmm……. I saw them once about 25 years ago flying to visit my brother in the UP of Michigan. It was an amazing experience.

  2. Denise says:

    Wow, all I can say is I am listening, and I am trying! Your blog, and my daily devotions all roar with the Truth. You can be sure of this: God knows where you are and why. We may not understand now, or ever. Trust is required. Trust is hard, I know. St. Thérèse de Lisieux’s prayer always touches the deepest part of me. I have to accept that I am exactly where I am meant to be nearly every day, and I apologize to God for forgetting that HE is GOD, and not me. That is so hard to accept when your car breaks down, lawn mower breaks, ceiling leaks, and you have a yearly audit, are bullied, and the list goes on and on. This and so much more was my week last week, but I have managed to forget most of the struggles, and move on. I actually had a moment when my only thought was to call Morgan, and ask, what do I do, and this after nearly 4 years of him being gone. That single moment blew me out of the water. I kept thinking, “Really, how long has it been, and this was an option? Hours have been spent reflecting on where I am at, how I’m doing, and is this part of God’s plan. Last week we quarreled as each mountain rose, “really God, is this meant to be, is this where you want me? How do I do this?
    My faithful Savior, and I do mean faithful, wrapped His loving arms around me and said, “I’m right here. I never left your side, and never will. I nod and through tears, confess my unbelief again. Yes, I know, but it is so hard to see sometimes. Why? Now that the storm has cleared humility helps me remember who I am, and who He is. All is well again.
    I hope and pray you have a wonderful day filled with love, peace, and joy.

Leave a Reply

