A Silly Saturday Not-So-Serious Debate: Baseball vs. Football 

[This is the time of year that professional baseball gears up for the playoffs and World Series. High school and college football have been underway for several weeks.  Now, the National Football League begins anew. Today’s is a good time to revisit one of the greatest comedy routines on sports.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Silly Saturday Not-So-Serious Debate: Baseball vs. Football 

  1. sharonandsal says:

    Good! For me, it’s football…….Sal loves watching the Yankees!

  2. Denise says:

    Brothers were and are football fans. I love a good football game. Husband, & son-in-law were and are baseball players and “managers.” Now I see why I love baseball players! I love George Carlin! Thanks.

  3. Shame on you. Shame. (signed): Lifelong fan and mother of fanatic fan of the Boston Red Sox (there were years that that is all she wore, even down to her shoes). And to think, you and God are supposed to be on good terms. Again, shame on you.

    • Paul Wharton says:

      Here is more reason for your dandy disdain: before I quit baseball after the one-labor-stoppage-too-many and the lack of apology from labor and owners when the World Series was cancelled, I was a Cincinatti Red’s Fan!

      That being said, I was happy for the Sox and the way they beat the Yankees when they were down three games and went on to win that World Series, if only to stop hearing about that stupid “curse of the bambino.”

      • Dandy disdain? Do Saturdays bring out your inherent alliterative nature? Or is it instead a direct result of having given your soul over that insidious evil which questions the sacredness of baseball? The thought overwhelms me.

  4. Give me baseball any day of the week!

  5. Kristin Choate says:

    Thanks. I needed a laugh!!!!!

Leave a Reply

