TODAY IS The Feast of our Lady of Sorrows

O Mother of Sorrows,
with strength from above
you stood by the Cross
sharing in the sufferings of Jesus,
and with tender care you bore him
in your arms mourning and weeping.

We praise you for your faith,
which accepted the life God planned for you.
We praise you for your hope,
which trusted that he would do
great things for you.
We praise you for your love,
in bearing, with Jesus,
the sorrows of his passion.

Holy Mary,
may we follow your example
and stand by all our children
who need comfort and love.

Mother of God,
stand by us in our trials
and care for us in our many needs.
Pray for us now
and at the hour of our death. Amen.

[SOURCE]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Feasts & Seasons, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TODAY IS The Feast of our Lady of Sorrows

  1. Anne Comeaux says:

    What a lovely prayer. I am teaching two classes today at a Catechist Formation Day and will use this to open my classes. Thanks, Paul

  2. Barbara Lilly says:

    This is so beautiful and uplifting.

Leave a Reply

