Saturday Cinema: Change for a Dollar –     –     (10 min, 6 sec)

[If good things come in small packages and a picture is worth a thousand words, then this short-film is worth your time.  The idea behind my occasional Saturday Cinema selection is to give you something to think and pray about.  This film works on many different levels  Please share your thoughts and ideas by leaving a comment.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Saturday Cinema: Change for a Dollar –     –     (10 min, 6 sec)

  1. Jeff Johnson says:

    I really liked “Change for a Dollar”. It really seems to symbolize hope and goodness. The homeless man seems very angelic.

  2. Emma Doughton says:

    This was beautiful. God works in mysterious ways.

  3. CAROLYN GIPSON says:

    Absolutely awesome!! It reinforces my belief that God never makes mistakes and that everything we do has a purpose . Not just the big things but the most tiniest thing is influenced by His Love. If you are not humbled by this film then you never will be.

  4. jeanpergande says:

    Powerful!!! The message is clear and beautiful.

  5. Denise says:

    At first I thought ” Angels are everywhere.”. Then his actions reminded me of the story of creation. In Genesis, we learn that the serpent set out to turn the hearts of Adam & Eve away from the Lord, & one another, & towards themselves. When we stop concerning ourselves with the moral good of others & concern ourselves with the fulfillment of our own desires, we sin. The beggar was showing love in its purest form. He was sacrificial in his actions & in service.

  6. Mike says:

    Always give something to a bum. It may be your test by an angel or even Jesus. Also, its ok to give a man money to buy a drink. At his time of need that may well be his greatest need.

  7. Kristin Choate says:

    This reminded me of the woman in the gospel whoever gave her last two coins in the offering. We don’t need to give a lot to accomplish much!!

Leave a Reply

