MYSTIC MONDAY: Last Night I Had a Dream by Antonio Machado

abstract wallpapers Pictures, Images and Photos

Last Night I Had a Dream

Last night I had a dream-
a blessed illusion it was-
I dreamt of a fountain flowing
deep down in my heart.
Water, by what hidden channels
have you come, tell me, to me,
welling up with new life
I never tasted before?

Last night I had a dream-
a blessed illusion it was-
I dreamt of a hive at work
deep down in my heart.
Within were the golden bees
straining out the bitter past
to make sweet-tasting honey,
and white honeycomb.

Last night I had a dream-
a blessed illusion it was-
I dreamt of a hot sun shining
deep down in my heart.
The heat was in the scorching
as from a fiery hearth;
the sun in the light it shed
and the tears it brought to the eyes.

Last night I had a dream-
a blessed illusion it was-
I dreamed it was God I’d found
deep down in my heart.
— Antonio Machado

[BOOKS:  http://www.amazon.com/Antonio-Machado/e/B001J3NP2C/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1329397862&sr=1-1]

[PHOTO by anim3Lover on photobucket.com]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MYSTIC MONDAY: Last Night I Had a Dream by Antonio Machado

  1. Vesita Lowman says:

    The first thing every morning I read your Blog…Loved this one ( Last Nigh i Had a Dream)

  2. Kristin Choate says:

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

