Upun My Word on A Silly Saturday

1. The Busy Pastor

A pastor who was badly overworked went to the local medical center and was able to have a clone made. The clone was like the pastor in every respect-except the clone used extraordinarily foul language.  The cloned pastor was exceptionally gifted in so many other areas of pastoral work, but finally the complaints about the dirty language were too much.

The pastor was not too sure how to get rid of the clone so that it didn’t look like murder. The best thing, it seemed, was to make the clone’s death look like an accident. So the pastor lured the clone onto a bridge in the middle of the night and pushed the clone off the bridge.

Unfortunately there was a police officer who happened by at that very moment and arrested the pastor for………………………………………… making an obscene clone fall.

2. The Absent-minded Angel

An angel was feeling rather blue with the uniform sameness of heaven and went to see St. Peter. “All I do,” the angel said, “is play the harp endlessly, and I’m getting bored.”

St. Peter asked, “What would you rather do?”

The angel answered, “I like to dance.”

“We don’t allow dancing here in heaven,” St. Peter said, “but I can see you need a change so I will allow you to take advantage of a once-in-an-eternal-lifetime offer. I will allow you 24 hours leave to return to earth and dance.”

“I’m gone,” the angel said and in a trice the angel was in California and quickly found a dance hall run by Samuel Frank. Checking the harp and wings, the angel boogied and danced and had a great time until just seconds remained of the leave.

The angel grabbed up the wings and immediately was in heaven again. Returning to St. Peter, the angel said, “I’m back and I am so happy. I’ll never feel bored again.”

St. Peter said, “That’s wonderful, but where is your musical instrument?” “Oh, no,” the angel said, …………………………………………………….“I left my harp in Sam Frank’s Disco.”

3. Ghost Story

There was a new preacher who wanted to rent a house in the country. The only house available was rumored to be haunted. Since the preacher didn’t believe in such things, he rented it.
It wasn’t long before the ghost made its appearance. The preacher told his friends about the ghost, but they didn’t believe him. They told him the only way they would believe was if he would take a picture of the ghost.

The preacher went home and called for the ghost. When it appeared, the preacher explained the situation and asked the ghost if it would mind having its picture taken. The ghost agreed.

When the picture was developed, the ghost wasn’t visible. Feeling very disappointed, the preacher called again for the ghost. When it appeared, the preacher showed it the picture and wanted to know why the ghost wasn’t in it.

The ghost thought a minute and replied, “Well, …………………………………. ………………………… I guess the spirit was willing, but the flash was weak.”

[SOURCE:  http://www.metanoia.org/jokes2.htm#wash]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Upun My Word on A Silly Saturday

  1. sandscript02 says:

    You’ve sent us punny smiles today! Thank you Fr. Paul! Blessings, Sandy

  2. Anne Comeaux says:

    Groan!

  3. Mike says:

    Good ones Fr. Paul, I love a good pun.

Leave a Reply

