Saint Teresa of Ávila (1515-1582) ON PRAYER

[This is the twentieth of a series of posts featuring a saint, mystic, or writer to include some of their thoughts on prayer as well as a prayer written by or ascribed to him or her.  Today is this saint’s Feast. For more about him, visit the Saint of the Day blog on the right column of this blog.]

Prayer is nothing else than being on terms of friendship with God.

There are more tears shed over answered prayers than over unanswered prayers.

One must not think that a person who is suffering is not praying. He is offering up his sufferings to God, and many a time he is praying much more truly than one who goes away by himself and meditates his head off, and, if he has squeezed out a few tears, thinks that is prayer.

God speaks to souls through words uttered by pious people, by sermons or good books, and in many other such ways. Sometimes he calls souls by means of sickness or troubles, or by some truth He teaches them during prayer, for tepid as they may be in seeking Him, yet God holds them very dear.  

A Prayer by St. Teresa of Avila
Lord, grant that I may always allow myself 
to be guided by You, 
always follow Your plans, and 
perfectly accomplish Your Holy Will.
Grant that in all things,
great and small, today and all the days of my life,
I may do whatever You require of me.
Help me respond to the slightest prompting of Your Grace,
so that I may be Your trustworthy instrument for Your honor.
May Your Will be done in time and in eternity — 
by me, in me, and through me. Amen.

 

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

