Silly Saturday Cinema: Pigs is Pigs –    –     – (9 min, 43 sec) 

[If good things come in small packages and a picture is worth a thousand words, then this short-film is worth your time.  The idea behind my occasional Saturday Cinema selection is to give you something to think and pray about.  Here is a pre-election short film which humorously makes a serious point.  This is vintage Walt Disney.  Please share your thoughts and ideas by leaving a comment.]

Praise the LORD, my soul;
I will praise the LORD all my life,
sing praise to my God while I live.
Put no trust in princes,
in children of Adam powerless to save.    (Psalm 146:2-3)

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Humor, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Silly Saturday Cinema: Pigs is Pigs –    –     – (9 min, 43 sec) 

  1. Anne Comeaux says:

    Just got around to viewing Pigs is Pigs. The likenesses to Church are innumerable from the rate of procreation, The “Big Town” , and the decisions passed on from far away without knowing the situation on the ground to more vague references. I laughed at how something made so long ago can still be very relevant. Thanks, Paul.

  2. I’m stumped. It’s embarrassing to admit it, but I’m stumped. This is tied to the election, you say? Are the guinea pigs supposed to be a segment of the population concerned with the election, say Blacks, perhaps? Are we supposed to become pro-choice after watching this, so that we, like Justice Ginsberg, can support abortion in order to keep down the numbers of those populations we want less of in our country?

    But perhaps that’s too serious an interpretation to make. You did mention the election, though, after all.

    It’s not too hard to imagine that you’re also trying to make a theological point, Father. So, again, who is Jesus here? The station master? No, clearly not. He bound himself up with rules while Jesus confronted people like that. Are the pigs here, then, the Gentiles? Or the Jews?

    This is too much thinking about a silly ‘toon, in my not-that-often-humble opinion. I think I’ll just sit here and remain stumped about it all.

    It’s a nice day out, anyway.

Leave a Reply

