Saint Charles Borromeo (1538-1584) ON PRAYER

[This is the twenty-second of a series of posts featuring a saint, mystic, or writer to include some of their thoughts on prayer as well as a prayer written by or ascribed to him or her.  Yesterday was this saint’s Feast. For more about him, visit the Saint of the Day blog on the right column of this blog.]

PLEASE POST AND LINK TO SOURCE

https://www.trinitystores.com/store/art-image/st-charles-borromeo

We must meditate before, during and after everything we do. 
The prophet says: “I will pray, and then I will understand.”  
This is the way we can easily overcome 
the countless difficulties we have to face day after day, 
which, after all, are part of our work. 
In meditation we find the strength 
to bring Christ to birth in ourselves and in others.

If we wish to make any progress in the service of God 
we must begin every day of our life with new eagerness. 
We must keep ourselves in the presence of God as much as possible 
and have no other view or end in all our actions but the divine honor.

Understand this, 
there is nothing quite so necessary as mental prayer,
prayer that paves the way for every act we do.

The tiniest fire of divine love has been lit in you. 
Then do not rush to make a parade of it. 
Do not take it out into the icy blast. 
Keep the furnace door shut on it so that it does not die out.
Keep your mind fixed on God.

A Prayer by St. Charles Borromeo
Almighty God, You have generously made known to human beings 
the mysteries of Your life 
through Jesus Christ Your Son in the Holy Spirit. 
Enlighten my mind to know these mysteries 
which Your Church treasures and teaches. 
Move my heart to love them 
and my will to live in accord with them. 
Give me the ability to teach this Faith to others without pride, 
without ostentation, and without personal gain. 
Let me realize that I am simply Your instrument 
for bringing others to the knowledge of the wonderful things 
You have done for all Your creatures. 
Help me to be faithful to this task 
that You have entrusted to me.  Amen.

NO LINK  
Source of Prayer – http://www.catholicdoors.com/prayers

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations, Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saint Charles Borromeo (1538-1584) ON PRAYER

  1. Kristin Choate says:

    Beautiful!

  2. Anne Comeaux says:

    St. Charles, one of the great patron saints of catechists, says it so well. Patience, humility, faith and hope…all traits of a great catechist. Thanks, Paul

Leave a Reply

