Mystic Monday: Be Sure to Know This

[A faithful reader of this blog sent me a copy of something distributed at a faith-sharing prayer group.  No author was provided. But the poem is beautifully written and the message well taken.]

It is God who pursues us
who uplifts us
and protects us
and provides for everything we need

It is God who loved us first
who showers us with every good thing
we do not even know

All that is required of us
is the faith to believe
that God is there
that God is our Greatest Lover
the source of all that’s wonderful
there is in our lives

It is our part to be able
to receive such a love
to rejoice
because we have been called
because we have been found
because we learn
that despite the mundaneness of what we see
we are special
we are cherished
we are in truth
God’s beloved ones.
— author unknown

[Jesus said,]
It was not you who chose me, but I who chose you
and appointed you to go and bear fruit that will remain,
so that whatever you ask the Father in my name he wlll give you
.” John 15:16

[PHOTO by sksica on photobucket.com]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

