A Prayer of Praise (adapted by yours truly) from Mor Philoxinus of Mabugh (5th Century)

 

Alba sugli Appennini
  

O God,  I look to You for help, and with You I take refuge, 
for You did create the heavens by Your will.
O God, You who are the aim of all my hopes and aspirations, 
the object of all my worship, the consolation in all my loneliness. 
You are the Holy One to whom I ever turn in prayer.

I ask You to have mercy upon me. 
Make the beginning of this day holy, 
and its end crowned with success. 
Help me be better aware of your presence, 
and free my tongue in Your praise. 
Be good to me, O Lord, and grant me health. 
You always answer when called upon.
Will You not answer me, O Lord of Lords?
I lift up my prayer to You, O Lord, my God.
In Your goodness be gracious and generous to me.

Glory be to You, O Lord, Who knows all mysteries, and 
Who showers goodness upon the good and the evil alike. 
You answer prayers, wipe off tears, shower blessings and satisfy our needs.
Glory be to You, Whom the moon does praise with its light.
Glory be to You, Whom even the darkness of night does sanctify.
Glory be to You, Whose own creation magnifies its Creator. 
Glory be to You, Who alone is exalted and Whose name alone is holy.
Glory be to You, Who alone deserves all praise.  
Glory be to You, Who built the heavens without pillars.
Glory be to You, Who is clothed with majesty and splendid light.
Glory be to You, Who alone is the living and true God. 
Glory be to You, Who sits on the throne and Whom no eye has seen. 
Glory be to You, Whose infinity no tongue can describe.
Glory be to You, Who made Heaven a dwelling place for those who pleased You
Glory be to You, Who made the fire to be the penalty of those who disobeyed You. 
Glory be to You, Who showed mercy on our father Jacob when he wept.
Glory be to You, Who showed mercy on Joseph in his distress and consoled him.
Glory be to You, Who raised Elijah to a high place and made him a chosen one.
Glory be to You, Who spoke with Moses on the mountain top and honored him.
Glory be to You, Who answered Jonah in the whale’s belly and caused him to live.
Glory be to You, Who showed mercy on Isaac and redeemed him from the slaying. 
Glory be to You, Who forgave David when he disobeyed You..
Glory be to You, Who praised the patience of Job and relieved him of his grief.
Glory be to You, Whom the heavens praise.
Glory be to You, Whom the angels praise in their ranks.
Glory be to You, Whom the sun praises with its light.
Glory be to You, Whom the stars glorify in their great number.
Glory be to You, Whom the winds praise wherever they blow.
Glory be to You, Whom the clouds adore in their courses.
Glory be to You, Whom the thunderbolts praise in their descent.
Glory be to You, Whom the thunders and lightening glorify.
Glory be to You, Whom the mountains praise with all that is on them.
Glory be to You, Whom the seas praise in their billows.
Glory be to You, Whom the birds praise in their nests.
Glory be to You, Whom the wild beasts magnify in their many kinds.
Glory be to You, Whom the trees and all plants praise in their flowers and fruits.
Glory be to You, Whom flowers adorn with their fragrance and sweet aroma.
Glory be to You, Whom rivers and springs praise in their streams.
Glory be to You, Whom all creation magnify night and day.
Glory be to You, Whom both earth and heaven adore.

O God, You created me to worship You. 
You taught me Your holy name and instructed me to call upon You. 
By Your mercy, compassion, goodness, and infinite loving kindness, 
I ask You that You remove from me every grief and distress, 
and remember not the sins of my youth.

In You, O God, is my desire; 
do not reject my request and disappoint me.
Rather, make all my days pleasing to You, 
and enable me to live in Your obedience. 
O most merciful One, Who does receive the penitent, 
accept my repentance be it prompt or slow. 
Have unlimited mercy upon them and upon me. 
Have mercy likewise upon all martyrs and saints. Amen.

[SOURCE: http://1stholistic.com/Spl_prayers/A2007/prayer_prayer-by-mor-philoxinus.html%5D

[PHOTO by Mario1952 was released into Public Domain. Thanks to Wikimedia Commons] 

   
  
 

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Prayer of Praise (adapted by yours truly) from Mor Philoxinus of Mabugh (5th Century)

  1. Kelly Rose says:

    So I’m trying to read a little on Mor Philoxinus and nothing comes up on a search except adaptations of this poem. I wanted a biography. But what was fascinating is, there, about number nine in the search, is “Hearts on Fire,” with today’s posting of this poem. I know we’re almost twenty years in now on the internet age, but I still find that fascinating, … that the minute you posted today’s blog post, a record was made and will exist out there in the ether until the UN takes over the internet, which it is trying to do, and which our current administration will probably allow it to do. And then it will no longer be the internet. But I digress.

    So I thought, The Catholic Encyclopedia will have something on Mor. But no. I can’t find a record of this man’s life anywhere? What kind of mother names her son Mor, anyway? I’m thinking that’s why no one seems to have a biography on him? It’s his name: )

Leave a Reply

