Jean-Pierre de Caussade (1675-1751) ON PRAYER

[This is the 25th of a series of posts featuring a saint, mystic, or writer to include some of their thoughts on prayer as well as a prayer written by or ascribed to him or her. Jean Pierre Caussade was a Jesuit priest and spiritual writer.]     

Commit every particle of your being in all things, 
down to the smallest details of your life, 
eagerly and with perfect trust to the unfailing and most sure providence of God.

Let us go, then, let us run and fly 
to that ocean of love by which we are attracted! 
What are we waiting for? Let us start at once, 
let us lose ourselves in God, even in His heart, 
to become inebriated with the wine of His charity.
We shall find in His heart the key of heavenly treasures. 
Let us begin at once our journey to Heaven. 
There is no passage that we cannot discover, nothing is shut against us, 
neither the garden, nor the cellar, nor the vineyard.

God knows how to make us holy, so let us leave the business to God and think no more about it.

If we wish to quench our thirst, 
we must lay aside books which explain thirst and take a drink.

If you truly seek this treasure, 
this kingdom where God alone reigns, you will find it. 
Your heart, if it is totally surrendered to God, 
is itself this treasure, that very kingdom you long for and are seeking.

A Prayer by Jean-Pierre de Caussade
Lord, may your kingdom come into my heart 
to sanctify me, nourish me and purify me.  
How insignificant is the passing moment to the eye without faith!  
But how important each moment is to the eye enlightened by faith!  
How can we deem insignificant anything which has been caused by you?  
Every moment and every event is guided by you, and so contains your infinite greatness.

So, Lord, I glorify you in everything that happens to me.  
In whatever manner you make me live and die, I am content.  
Events please me for their own sake, regardless of their consequences, 
because your action lies behind them.  
Everything is heaven to me, because all my moments manifest your love. (Book of Prayers)

Books: http://www.amazon.com/Jean-Pierre-DeCaussade/e/B000APA7US/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1321842983&sr=8-1

 

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jean-Pierre de Caussade (1675-1751) ON PRAYER

  1. Denise says:

    This message is timely when I consider the events of the past week. It is humbling to be reminded that “every moment and every event is guided by you,” and so it contains His Infinite Greatness. How many times have I viewed life’s hurtful, hateful moments as mistakes I should forgive, forget, dismiss, and move on? It is easier to see God’s providence when I remember he is always with me, so He is in every moment and every event.

  2. Bobbie Showalter says:

    I will now add Jean-Pierre de Caussade to my list of favorites….what good instructions….” If we wish to quench our thirst, we must lay aside books which explain thirst and take a drink.” Thank you Father Paul for giving us food for the journey….

Leave a Reply

