Venerable Catherine McAuley  (1778-1841) ON PRAYER

[This is the one of a series of posts featuring a saint, mystic, or writer to include some of their thoughts on prayer as well as a prayer written by or ascribed to him or her.  The Venerable Catherine was the founder of the Sisters of Mercy.  In 1990 she was named by Pope John Paul II as “Venerable,” the first step in the process of being canonized or recognized as a saint. For more on that see below.]

Prayer is a plant, 
the seed of which is sown in the heart of every Christian, 
but its growth entirely depends on the care we take to nourish it. 
If neglected, it will die.

Your whole life should be a continual act of praise and prayer.

Thus we may hope to get on, taking short, careful steps, not great strides.

It is therefore by being united to Jesus Christ 
that we will be united with each other.

St Teresa tells us, “We must leave God for God,” that is, we must be ready to quit even prayer in order to find God in our neighbor.   

A Prayer by Blessed Sister Catherine McAuley 
My God, I am yours for time and eternity
Lord I am yours forever
It is you must teach me to trust in your providence
Loving Lord.
 
You are a God of love and tenderness
I place my trust in You
And I ask that you grant me  
acceptance of your will, Loving God.
 
Take from my heart all painful anxiety
Let nothing sadden me but sin
And then let my delight be
hoping to see your face, God my all.

[One of many requirements to being recognized as a saint by the Roman Catholic Church is to have documentation of two miraculous cures resulting from prayer asking the venerable man or woman to pray for the healing.  Saints do not answer our prayers, but pray on our behalf just like any living person may so pray.  To seek the intercession of Venerable Catherine or for more information about her, please go here: http://www.rsmofalma.org/beatification/beatification.html%5D

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Venerable Catherine McAuley  (1778-1841) ON PRAYER

  1. Kristin Choate says:

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

