HALLMARK THEOLOGY: Lenten Sacrifice

[When I was in college seminary, we students sometimes made snide comments about “Hallmark Theology,” which was something easy to understand, syruppy sweet, memorable, and small enough to fit on a greeting card. Now that I am older, wiser, and a lot less cynical, I actually enjoy some hallmark theology. Of course, as with choosing greeting cards, time and care are needed in the selection process.  Ash Wednesday marks the beginning of the Season of Lent. This is yet another nice thought by Anonymous who is sometimes referred to by his first and middle names — Author Unknown. Since we don’t know who wrote it, the message gets all our focus. And, as always, what means nothing to one might speak volumes to another.]

What to Give Up for Lent

Give up watching television one evening a week
Visit some lonely or sick person instead

Give up looking at other people’s worst points
Concentrate on their strong points and positive attributes

Give up speaking unkindly
Let your speech be generous and understanding

Give up your worries
Trust God with your problems and frustrations

Give up hatred or dislike of anyone
Learn to love instead

Give up the fear which presents Christian witness
Seek courage to speak about your faith with others

Give up spending so much time with newspapers and magazines
Use some of that time to study your Bible

Give up grumbling
Learn to give thanks in everything

Give up ten to fifteen minutes each day
Use that time in prayer

Give up buying anything but essentials for yourself
Give that money to God’s work or someone in need

Give up judging by appearance and by the standards of the world
Learn to give up yourself to God
— Author Unknown 

[http://godslittleacre.net/spiritualgrowth/what_to_give_up_for_lent.html]

[ART by aquariadoll on photobucket.com]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to HALLMARK THEOLOGY: Lenten Sacrifice

  1. Mike says:

    Good advice, wherever it came from. The job of Pope is available!!

  2. Although I like the list of “Anonymous” very much, Fr. Paul, I’ve managed to simplify the list for myself. I’ve promised to God to give up 100% of my selfishness for Lent. I know what that is. God knows what it is. It’s a lifting of a big burden to make this pledge. God tells me that He would be pleased if I can simply do this One Day At A Time. Please pass this on to Anonymous.

  3. Denise says:

    There are so many good lists of things to give up this Lent. I think I will visit the lists I have seen, including this one, and vist them daily during Lent and try to determine which I should work on.

Leave a Reply

