Mechthild of Magdeburg (c. 1207 – c. 1282/1294) ON PRAYER

http://puffin.creighton.edu/jesuit/andre/i_mechtild.html

The soul is made of love and must ever strive to return to love. 
Therefore, it can never find rest nor happiness in other things. 
By its very nature it must seek God, who is love.

A fish cannot drown in water, 
A bird does not fall in air. 
In the fire of creation, 
God doesn’t vanish: 
The fire brightens. 
Each creature God made 
must live in its own true nature; 
How could I resist my nature, 
That lives for oneness with God?

There is nothing so wise, nor so holy, 
nor so beautiful, nor so strong, nor so perfect as love.

I rejoice that I love the One Who loves me, and 
I pray that I may love Him without measure and without ceasing.

A Prayer by  Mechthild of Magdeburg
O
burning 
Mountain, 
O chosen Sun,
O perfect Moon, 
O fathomless Well,
O unattainable Height, 
O Clearness beyond measure,
O Wisdom without end, 
O Mercy without limit,
O Strength beyond resistance, 
O Crown beyond all majesty:
the humblest thing you created sings your praise.

Mechthild of Magdeburg

[The icon above can be purchased by clicking on it and going to the website.  It is: © by Fr. William Hart McNichols and found at  www.fatherbill.org or www.standreirublevicons.com]

 

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mechthild of Magdeburg (c. 1207 – c. 1282/1294) ON PRAYER

  1. How wonderful, you posted! And such beautiful words. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

