Blessed Charles De Foucauld (1858-1916) ON PRAYER

[This is the ? of a series of posts featuring a saint, mystic, or writer to include some of their thoughts on prayer as well as a prayer written by or ascribed to him or her.  Blessed Charles’ Feast is on December 1. For more about him, visit the Saint of the Day blog on the right column of this blog and enter his name or Feast Day.]

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Charles_de_Foucauld.jpg
  
Prayer is just conversation with God: 
listening to him; speaking with him; gazing upon him in silence. 
The best prayer is the one in which there is the most love. 
Adoration, wordless admiration, 
that is the most eloquent form of prayer: 
that wordless admiration which contains the most passionate declaration of love.

To pray is to think about Jesus and love him. 
The more we love the better we pray.

Let us be persons of desire and of prayer. 
Let us never believe anything to be impossible: God can do all.

The Abandonment Prayer

Father,
I abandon myself
into your hands;
do with me what you will.
Whatever you may do,
I thank you.

I am ready for all,
I accept all.
Let only your will be done in me
and in all your creatures.

I wish no more than this, O Lord.
Into your hands
I commend my soul;
I offer it to you,
with all the love of my heart,
for I love you, Lord,
and so need to give myself,
to surrender myself
into your hands,
without reserve,
and with boundless confidence,
for you are my Father.

[This image picture is in the public domain because its copyright has expired.  This applies to Australia, the European Union and those countries with a copyright term of life of the author plus 70 years.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blessed Charles De Foucauld (1858-1916) ON PRAYER

  1. Thanks for this beautiful prayer of abandonment to God.

  2. Gail Bays says:

    This is a most beautiful prayer.

  3. Anne Comeaux says:

    He speaks of “abandonment” of ourselves. I went for spiritual direction concerning a specific issue with which I was struggling. The advice was to “surrender” which, I suppose, is abandonment. I continue to work on that. Thanks for a great reminder.

Leave a Reply

