Two for Tuesday: Short Prayers that Go a Long Way (Pentecost Edition)

Two for Tuesday: Short Prayers that Go a Long Way (Pentecost Edition)
  
[in teaching his disciples how to pray, Jesus tells them not to use a whole bunch of words as if somehow the quantity of words matter more than the quality of words.  God desires that we pray from the heart and with faith. The Lord’s Prayer is quite short, especially in the Gospel according to Luke.  Here are two short prayers that go a long way.  The first prayer may have been inspired by the second one, which immediately came to mind.]  

Breathe on Me, Breath of God 

Breathe on me, Breath of God, 
Fill me with life anew
That I may love what You love, 
And do what You do.
Breathe on me, Breath of God, 
Until my heart is pure,
Until with You I will one will, 
To do or to endure.
Breathe on me, Breath of God, 
Till I am wholly Yours,
Till all this earthly part of me
Glows with Your fire divine.
Breathe on me, Breath of God, 
So shall I never die;
But live with You the perfect life 
Of Your eternity.
— Edwin Hatch (1835-1899)

FireIcon

Prayer to the Holy Spirit

Breathe in me, O Holy Spirit,
that my thoughts may all be holy.
Act in me, O Holy Spirit,
that my work, too, may be holy.
Draw my heart, O Holy Spirit,
that I love but what is holy.
Strengthen me, O Holy Spirit,
to defend all that is holy.
Guard me, then, O Holy Spirit,
that I always may be holy. Amen.
— Saint Augustine (354-430)

 

[Edwin Hatch:: http://1stholistic.com/Spl_prayers/prayer_breath-on-me.htm%5D
[ART 1 by floatingaxe on photobucket.com]
[ART 2 by  Piotr Jaworski and put into Public Domain.  Wikimedia Commons]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two for Tuesday: Short Prayers that Go a Long Way (Pentecost Edition)

  1. Gail Bays says:

    These two prayers are very beautiful Fr. Paul.

  2. Elisabeth says:

    Very nice write-up. I absolutely appreciate this website.
    Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

