Holy Trinity: Theology and Prayer

Dreieinigkeit

 
God alone can make 
the mystery of the Most Holy Trinity known to us
by revealing Godself as Father, Son and Holy Spirit:
 
One God and Father FROM whom all things are; and
One Lord Jesus Christ THROUGH whom all things are; and
One Holy Spirit IN whom all things are.
 
Everyone who glorifies the Father does so 
THROUGH the Son IN the Holy Spirit
Everyone who follows Christ does so because
the Father DRAWS him and the Spirit MOVES him.
 
Now this is the Catholic faith:
We worship one God in the Trinity and the Trinity in unity,
without either confusing the persons or dividing the substance;
for the person of the Father is one, 
the Son’s is another, the Holy Spirit’s another;
but the Godhead of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit is one,
their glory equal, their majesty coeternal.

 

A Prayer to the Triune God
 
O my God, Trinity whom I adore,
help me forget myself entirely 
so to establish myself in you,
unmovable and peaceful as if 
my soul were already in eternity.
May nothing be able to trouble my peace 
or make me leave you, O my unchanging God,
but may each minute bring me 
more deeply into your mystery!

Grant my soul peace.  
Make it your heaven, 
your beloved dwelling and 
the place of your rest.
May I never abandon you there, 
but may I be there, whole and entire, 
completely vigilant in my faith,
entirely adoring, and wholly given over 
to your creative action.  Amen!

— Agnes Ann Mills 
 
ccc 258, 259, 260, 266

[ART: Original uploader was Besednjak.  This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license. Wikimedia Commond]

 
 

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holy Trinity: Theology and Prayer

  1. Anne Comeaux says:

    Thanks, Paul. I’m more likely to read it and understand it from you than the CCC! Nice prayer too.

Leave a Reply

