Saint Catherine of Genoa (1447-1510) ON PRAYER

[This is part of a an ongoing series of posts featuring a saint, mystic, or writer to include some of their thoughts on prayer as well as a prayer written by or ascribed to him or her.]

Santa Caterina Fieschi Adorno-dipinto Giovanni Agostino Ratti

Since I am determined to join myself to God,
I find that I am also bound to be the enemy of his enemies.
And since I find nothing that is more his enemy than the self that is me,
I am constrained to hate this part of me more than any other.

Know, dearest daughter, how, by humble, continual, and faithful prayer,
the soul acquires, with time and perseverance, every virtue.
Wherefore should she persevere and never abandon prayer.

Let Jesus be in your heart,
eternity in your spirit,
the world under your feet,
the Will of God in your actions, and
let the Love of God shine from you.

God stands before us with open arms to receive us into His glory.

Any time spent before the Eucharistic presence,
be it long or short, is the best-spent time of our lives.

A Prayer by Saint Catherine
Lord, I make you a present of myself.
I do not know what to do with myself.
So let me make this exchange:
I will place myself entirely in your hands,
if you will cover my ugliness with your beauty,
and tame my unruliness with your love.
Put out the flames of false passion in my heart,
since these flames destroy all that is true within me.
Make me always busy in your service.
Lord, I want no special signs from you,
nor am I looking for intense emotions in response to your love.
I would rather be free of all emotion,
than to run the danger of falling victim once again to false passion.
Let my love for you be naked, without any emotional clothing.
— Saint Catherine of Genoa

[http://bluebonnetprayers.blogspot.com/2002_07_01_archive.html]

[PHOTO by Davide Papalini of a fresco. is a faithful photographic reproduction of an original two-dimensional work of art. The work of art itself is in the public domain for the following reason because its copyright has expired. Wikimedia Commons] 

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

