Prayer of Praise

NIK 149Lord Jesus Christ,

how immeasurably generous is Your love for me!
Let my prayer today remind me of Your goodness.
You are worthy of all praise and thanksgiving.
Your bounty supplies me,
Your power delivers me,
Your providence protects me,
Your knowledge guards me,
Your love animates me,
Your mercy heals me,
Your grace supports me,
Your compassion comforts me,
Your pity relieves me,
Your goodness provides for me,
Your tenderness soothes me,
Your kindness encourages me,
Your patience bears with me,
Your faithfulness emboldens me,
Your holiness adorns me,
Your majesty awes me,
Your life quickens me,
Your light illumines me,
Your Word regulates me,
Your joy delights me,
Your generosity gives me hope,
Your blessedness elevates me,
Your long and patient endurance lead me to repentance,
Your agelessness guarantees Your promises to me,
Your truth protects and shields me.
Your humility inspires me with gratitude and love,
and Your abundance satisfies me both in time and eternity.
All glory, praise, honor, thanksgiving, and love be Yours now and forever.

— James Smith, “The Person and Work of Christ” 1849
adapted by Paul J. Wharton

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prayer of Praise

  1. Denise says:

    Thank you. A wonderful way to start the morning, and a wonderful reminder of how much I am loved and how God provides everything I need. He covers me with his all consuming love, each and every day. All praise, glory, honor, and love to you, Almighty God.

  2. Gail Bays says:

    This is a wonderful prayer. Thank you Fr. Paul for picking this. I know he is a everloving God.

Leave a Reply

