Offerings by Alden Solovy on a Mystic Monday

DSC_0024

How can I repay the LORD
for all the great good done for me?
I will raise the cup of salvation
and call on the name of the LORD.
I will pay my vows to the LORD
in the presence of all his people.
— Psalm 116:12-15

Offerings

When G-d offers love, I offer my heart.
When G-d offers wisdom, I offer my mind.
When G-d offers beauty, I offer my senses.
When G-d offers silence, I offer my patience.
When G-d offers challenge, I offer my strength.
When G-d offers trial, I offer my faith.
When G-d offers pain, I offer my dignity.
When G-d offers fear, I offer my courage.
When G-d offers grief, I offer my endurance.
When G-d offers shame, I offer my amends.
When G-d offers death, I offer my mourning.
When G-d offers life, I offer my rejoicing.
When G-d offers joy, I offer my thanksgiving.
When G-d offers awe, I offer my wonder.
When G-d offers righteousness, I offer my blessings.
When G-d offers holiness, I offer my praise.

© 2011 Alden Solovy and www.tobendlight.com. All rights reserved.

[POEM: http://tobendlight.com/2011/05/22/offerings/]

Picture by Luigi Pagano. Pilgrimage to the National Shrine 2012.  www.voxdomini.us

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

