Saint Alphonsus Liguori (1696-1787) ON PRAYER

[This is the ? of a series of posts featuring a saint, mystic, or writer to include some of their thoughts on prayer as well as a prayer written by or ascribed to him or her.  Today is this saint’s Feast. For more about him, visit the Saint of the Day blog on the right column of this blog.]

Acquire the habit of speaking to God as if you were alone with God, 
familiarly and with confidence and love, 
as to the dearest and most loving of friends. 
Speak often of your business, your plans, your troubles, your fears— 
of everything that concerns you. Conversewith God confidently and frankly; 
for God is not wont to speak to a soul that does not speak to Him.

Jesus seems continually to exclaim from the altar: 
Come to me, all you who work hard and who carry heavy burdens 
and I will refresh you (Matthew 11:28). 
Come, He says, 
come you who are poor;
come, you who are infirm; 
come, you who are afflicted; 
come, you who are just 
and you who are sinners, 
and you shall find in me a remedy for all your losses and afflictions. 
This is the desire of Jesus Christ: to console every person who calls upon Him.”

Realize that you may gain more in a quarter of an hour of prayer
before the Blessed Sacrament than in all other practices of the day.

Let your constant practice be to offer yourself to God, 
PAthat God may do with you what He pleases.

A Prayer Written by Saint Alphonsus Liguori  

Eternal Father, your Son has promised that 
you would grant all the graces we ask of you in his name. 
Trusting in this promise, and 
in the name of and through the merits of Jesus Christ, 
I ask of you five special graces: 

First, I ask pardon for all the offenses I have committed, 
for which I am sorry with all my heart, 
because I have offended your infinite goodness. 

Second, I ask for your divine Light, 
which will enable me to see the vanity of all things of this earth, 
and see also your infinite greatness and goodness. 

Third, I ask for a share in your love, 
so that I can detach myself from all creatures, 
especially from myself, and love only your holy will. 

Fourth, grant me the grace to have confidence 
in the merits of Jesus Christ and in the intercession of Mary.
 
Fifth, I ask for the grace of perseverance, 
knowing that whenever I call on you for assistance, 
you will answer my call and come to my aid. 
I fear only that I will neglect to turn to you in time of need, and thus bring myself to ruin. Grant me the grace to pray always, O Eternal Father, in the name of Jesus.

[Bottom feature of the right stained glass window in the north transept of Carlow Cathedral, Ireland, showing St Alphonsus kneeling before the Most Holy Sacrament.  Created by Franz Mayer & Co. in the 19th century.   This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported, 2.5 Generic, 2.0 Generic and 1.0 Generic license.  Attribution: Andreas F. Borchert]
 

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

