St. Anselm of Canterbury (1033-1109) ON PRAYER

[This is the ninth of a series of posts featuring a saint, mystic, or writer to include some of their thoughts on prayer as well as a prayer written by or ascribed to him or her.  Tomorrow is this saint’s Feast. For more about him, visit the Saint of the Day blog on the right column of this blog.]

No one will have any other desire in heaven than what God wills;
and the desire of one will be the desire of all; and
the desire of all and of each one will also be the desire of God.

A Prayer by St. Anselm of Canterbury
O Lord my God,
Teach my heart this day where and how to see you,
Where and how to find you.
You have made me and remade me,
And you have bestowed on me
All the good things I possess,
And still I do not know you.
I have not yet done that
For which I was made.
Teach me to seek you,
For I cannot seek you
Unless you teach me,
Or find you
Unless you show yourself to me.
Let me seek you in my desire,
Let me desire you in my seeking.
Let me find you by loving you,
Let me love you when I find you.

St. Anselm

This image is in the public domain because its copyright has expired.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to St. Anselm of Canterbury (1033-1109) ON PRAYER

  1. In Heaven eternal life will be God-centered. When we die from physical life, we leave our egos at the door.

Leave a comment