A Prayer For Seekers of God Everywhere

st anselm Pictures, Images and Photos

O Lord my God,
Teach my heart this day where and how to see you,
Where and how to find you.
You have made me and remade me,
And you have bestowed on me
All the good things I possess,
And still I do not know you.
I have not yet done that
For which I was made.
Teach me to seek you,
For I cannot seek you
Unless you teach me,
Or find you
Unless you show yourself to me.
Let me seek you in my desire,
Let me desire you in my seeking.
Let me find you by loving you,
Let me love you when I find you.

St. Anselm (1033-1109)

[Today is the Feast of St. Anselm. This prayer may be used by seekers of God from other faith traditions. Sometimes when we pray it’s nice to use someone else’s words. This could be come a part of one’s daily prayer. Followers of 12 Step Recovery Groups will see this as a third-step prayer: “Made a decision to turn our will and our life over to the care of God as we understood Him.”]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment